The Eid Chronicle

The six-hour sleep had resulted in myself feeling blissfully refreshed once my eyes began to observe the light that was coming in through the window and filtered by the black-and-white checked curtains. It was Eid al-Fitr and I gratefully greeted myself with the mandatory Syawal greeting – Happy Eid Mubarak – while my face was still in the just-wake-up mode.

TEC06

 

It took me quite a while to dress up and get ready for the voluntary ritual during the first day of Syawal – Eid al-Fitr prayer – and not to neglect for the whole festive day. I knew that it was one of the special occasions of the year where looking presentable, appropriate and moderately fashionable was somehow a must. Indeed, it is a sunnah to wear the best outfit on the first day of Syawal – the day where Muslim people celebrate their victory. Thus I covered myself with the traditional Cara Melayu and completed the look with the star of the outfit – sinjang – and accessorised myself with the black songkok. Wrapping my left wrist was the brand new Casio watch that I purchased from ZALORA Malaysia.

TEC05

“Dear Cara Melayu, I think I’ve fallen in love with you.”

TEC04

TEC03

TEC02

“Dear ZALORA Malaysia, thank you for helping me find such a unique pair of shoes.”

My mom as the stylist of the family opted for green hue for the outfit theme on the first day of Syawal this year. Personally, it was a brilliant choice as green is somehow related to Eid al-Fitr – green packets, ketupat and lemang. Kudos to my mom for being my all-time-favourite stylist. She undoubtedly knows what’s best!

TEC07

Tackling the first day of Syawal, it was so calm. It was neither cold nor hot but just warm. It was so soothing and comforting to hear the takbeer, lead by the imam. It was around 7 o’clock that my dad and I arrived at the masjid. As per usual, the masjid was packed and crowded with Muslim people whose main intention was to perform the Eid al-Fitr prayer. That is one of the many matters that I love about the festivity – it ultimately gathers the Muslim people.

TEC12

Once the prayer had been performed and the sermon had been beautifully delivered, the Muslims drew a smile on their faces and spread the good vibes while shaking hands – symbolising the major intention to seek forgiveness and to greet and congratulate one another regarding the festivity. That’s another matter that I like about Syawal – it creates the bond between the Muslim people regardless of the worldly matters.

TEC11

Inevitably, Eid al-Fitr is somehow equivalent to creating and strengthening the bond and visiting the family relatives and the acquaintances. Hence on the first day of Syawal, my family and I visited my grandparents from both my dad’s side and mom’s as well. It was absolutely amazing and magnificent to have all of the big family members under one roof on such a blessed day. The day was filled with happiness, laughter, bliss and the list of positive and pleasant things goes on. The presence of long-time-no-see relatives on that day led to a catch-up session, and the colourful and eye-catching outfits demanded a so-called photo shoot here and there. That was the time when everyone seemed to be the best photographers and models in town. Not to neglect, despite of my age that shall be turning 18 this year, my pocket was also filled with green packets! From all the tantalising blings and things during the Eid al-Fitr, I need to say that I admire the notion of Bruneians whose perspective on this festivity is to grab the chance to practicing a lot of good manners and advantageous things.

TEC01

Admittedly, this year’s Syawal was not as fancy and as extravagantly fantastic as the past years. Calm, moderate and bliss perhaps best describe the atmosphere of this year’s Eid al-Fitr. Even so, happiness and gratitude still bloomed in the soul of mine due to the presence of myriad lessons in both months – Ramadhan and Syawal. One of the many vital lessons is that the month of Syawal allows us to strengthen the bond and to always have time for the treasured and beloved ones whilst reminding ourselves to consistently be blessed and grateful for all the things that Allah lend us in the worldly life.

TEC08

TEC09

After all, it is not about the brand new things or stuffs we have for Eid al-Fitr, rather it is about the aspect of our renewed soul and refreshed intention that we had striven for during the holy month of Ramadhan. Syawal is the new chapter of life. Thus we shall strive to not spoil anything especially on the very first few pages of the chapter.

TEC10

Last but not least, I – as the one who runs and manages all things related to Humble Scents – would like to apologise and seek forgiveness on all my wrongdoings from the commencement of this platform. Thank you for being one of the Humble Folks! May the Almighty sprinkle your life with His infinite blessings. Happy Eid al-Fitr!

How was your first day of Syawal, Humble Folks?

Kindly share it in the comment section! I would like to know.

Until next time,

 

 

Shakeeb


Photographed By: Anis Hazimah
Processed/Edited By: Shakeeb Suhib
All photographs are copyright of Humble Scents. Permission must be obtained before any usage is made outside of this platform – Humble Scents.

 

Leave a Reply

